I’ve Booked My One Way Ticket!

MenJoshAirport

SO I’ve done it. I’ve pressed that button and I will be on my way to my baby for good in June! I felt a range of things when booking it. At first I thought, ‘why aren’t the returning flights showing up? Oh yeah.’ I’ve never booked a one-way ticket before.

I am unbelievably excited; it feels like it is such a long time coming. We are so looking forward to finally being together; planting our garden together, watching sunsets, drinking tea, holding hands, going on country drives, and sharing lots of kisses. Words can’t describe my excitement, or how much I love this boy. I know there will always be challenges in life and in relationships but we are such a solid team that I truly believe we can face anything together.

But my heart was also racing. This is it. In June, almost everything in my life will change. I wouldn’t say I’m afraid, but this is all just so big. The single biggest transition in my life so far. I feel guilty that I won’t properly see my parents grow old. It’s only began to really dawn on me recently that they won’t be around forever. I feel guilty about leaving them. I am going to Nova Scotia to see all my mom’s side of the family before I leave but I have no idea when I will see them again.

I will also have to find a new job and that is pretty scary. I’ve been working in our family business for the past four years and I know the business like the back of my hand. Starting over somewhere new and working for a ‘real’ boss again is going to be a hard transition for sure! I hope after a year of working I will be able to get into teacher’s college though and I am excited at the prospect of becoming a teacher. Although beginning a real career is also a pretty scary thought.

I also have the most amazing friends (though most of them unfortunately live hours away) and I will miss them terribly. They are irreplaceable. We will keep in touch.

I know the time has come to turn the page and begin this wonderfully bitter-sweet new chapter. I couldn’t ask for a better man to hold my hand through it all. I cannot wait for the beginning of the rest of our lives, and for digging in the dirt, and cooking meals, and cuddles and Christmasses spent together. I am so thankful.

9 thoughts on “I’ve Booked My One Way Ticket!

  1. I am so thrilled for you. Bittersweet, to be sure! Having to let go of some of the solid things underneath you to find your footing somewhere new. Looking forward to reading more about all you will discover and life with your love!!

  2. Thanks so much for your kind words. I’m looking forward to all the new discoveries I’ll be sure to make and will definitely share my new experiences here. I just can’t wait🙂 Wishing you all the best as well and look forward to seeing where life takes you. We really never know what wonders are around the corner!

  3. I remember your blog was one of the first ones I found when I started in WordPress. Reading this post makes me feel like if you were graduating and starting a new chapter in your live, which you definitely will. I am truly happy for you (: congrats for the one way ticket purchase, you made it!

      1. Yes, I cannot wait to hear about it! (I never thought about not seeing my parents get old) I hope I can visit them once a year at least…

      2. I will definitely be blogging about my new adventures🙂 I hope you will be able to visit them too. It’s only something I’ve really began thinking about lately… when you’re young you think they’ll be around forever. I feel like I’m transitioning into a new stage of life; new thoughts and concerns and responsibilities. Where it used to be my parents taking care of me I feel the tables shifting towards me taking care of them. Instead of them worrying about me, I worry more about them. It’s an odd feeling this growing into an adult thing.

        Best wishes to you, look forward to reading your stories as well🙂

      3. Yes (: yesterday it hit me when I mentioned it to my boyfriend and he made me realize that we won’t be able to visit them as often as I want, but oh well (: I will worry when the time comes lol

  4. I am excited..and I am also nervous for you! Lol. I have been thinking about the things you mention in your post a lot. Not being with the parents -not knowing when i can go back to see them, finding a new job, new place, new people… Like you I too run my family business, and I’m pretty much my own boss now..lol..pretty scary to be working with a ‘real’ boss as you said.

    I live in Asia and he’s in the US. We talked a lot about the distance and how it will affect me when I finally come and be with him forever. I have no idea how it will be.. but life are made of wonders and adventures.

    I wish you the best! Nothing beats the feeling of being in the arms of someone you love especially if the partner is miles and miles away..xoxo

    1. Thanks! I am so excited. I’m not too nervous really, I tend to be very sure of my decisions. Although there will definitely be things I miss I can’t wait for all the adventures that await.

      The only thing I’m really nervous about is, as you said, finding and working in a different environment and transitioning into going back to school and beginning a career.

      Do you know when you and your man might be able to close the distance? Best wishes to you both xx

Leave a Reply

