Thoughts on Feeling Lonely

IMISSYOU

I’m feeling kind of down tonight for no reason in particular. I miss my friends and all the fun we used to have I guess. Feeling a bit lonely maybe.

When I used to feel down it seemed like the world was ending and if there wasn’t a clear reason I’d search for one. But in the past couple years I’ve come to realize that some days we feel inexplicably happy and some days we feel sad and often we are somewhere in between. And that’s okay. That’s life.

I guess I used to think that there was happily ever after and you’d never feel sad again but that isn’t how life works. Life is what you make of it. Its okay to feel sad sometimes; it just means you’re human and you’re living and I’ve learned to be thankful for every moment I’ve been given here on this earth (even sad ones!). Life is precious and someone out there would give anything just to be able to breathe and live and feel something.

Growing up we’re taught we need to fix things. That there is always a cause; a reason you feel sad. Sometimes the reason is as simple as needing sleep, or being hungry, or not listening to enough music, or just hormones. And you don’t always need to “fix” it.

It’s perfectly okay to feel sad or lonely sometimes. You can even feel happy about feeling sad. After all if we never felt sad, feeling happy wouldn’t feel so great🙂

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Feeling Lonely

  1. I feel like it is one of the hardest things to allow the more difficult feelings to just “be”. But It’s definitely better than the alternative, which is, like you said, to try and fix or try not to feel what you’re feeling. I sure am using the word ‘feeling’ a lot, haha! Anyways, I’ve been thinking about this topic a lot lately. Thanks for putting it into words!

    1. It is definitely a hard thing to learn, but I’m glad to have learned it. To accept and appreciate all the different feelings and phases of life.

      It’s something I’ve also thought about a lot in the past year. Partly because I have nothing to be sad about anymore (no more bullying, no more having low self-esteem, no more callous boyfriend, less family hardships) but once in a while I still get a bit down. Also because I’ve met an amazing young girl fighting cancer and she has been so positive through it all. It made me realize how lucky I am to just live, to have time, to breathe, to feel. And that no matter what life throws at you, you don’t have to take it lying down. We can’t control what happens to us, but we can control how we react to it, and I think that’s comforting that no matter what we always have some control. We can still smile🙂 We can even smile when we’re sad.

      It took me a long time to realize that there have been ups and downs for the past 24 years and there will never come a time when it’s all ups and no downs. This is life, and instead of waiting for it to be perfect, I’ve learned to enjoy everyday. This is it. This is all we get, so I think we’d better make the most of it🙂. Although it sure helps when you have wonderful people around you and I’ve been so fortunate to have found so many people that bring me happiness everyday. How I wish I could go back and tell my younger self what wonderful things were in store🙂.

      I thought I wanted to stay 21 forever but having turned 24 yesterday I can honestly say I wouldn’t trade the past two years for anything. I wouldn’t want to go back to being 21 and lost; I’d rather be 24 and so incredibly happy, and I think, quite a bit wiser. Gotta enjoy every stage of life🙂

      1. You are way ahead of me when it comes to awareness of life being unpredictable and precious. It’s very true that we can control how we see things, yet we still need to honor our own feelings. What a balance!! I get down sometimes, too, but I have to remember that it’s just a part of me and the moment and things are always changing…

Leave a Reply

