I’ve Moved to England!

london3

Well, I’ve done it!

It didn’t really hit me that I was leaving everything I’ve ever known and what a big deal that actually is until I was on the plane and in the air. I had a few tears and a few moments of panic but after a stop-over in Iceland I got on another plane and started to feel excited again. I turned my iPod on and the song “Who Says You Can’t Go Home” came on and it was perfect timing. I realized that even though I’ll have a new place to call home, my old home will always be there waiting and I know I’ll be back to visit.

I’m really really loving my life here in England; it feels like home. It reminds me of Canada but with subtle differences that make everything more interesting. I am just in love with our little town and our little home together here.

Also having my man around has been so wonderful. Just yesterday I opened up my belated birthday present (a gorgeous Derby hat I can wear when we go to the races) and we hung up our new hammock. We’ve walked into town many times and each time we’re cuddled up on the couch or pillow talking before bed I can’t help but smile as I realize this is my life now; there’s no expiration on our time together anymore. I’m really happy that I’m here to stay🙂.

First impressions/thoughts:

-When I wake up in the morning it sounds like we live in a bird sanctuary, they are soo loud! But I love it. So. Many. Pigeons.

london4

-There hasn’t been a ton of rain so far but quite a bit of cloud; the sunny moments have been lovely though

london5

-My dad’s always trying to Skype me about 1am. He’s booked a ticket to come visit before I my plane even left the ground.

-Cleaning the house is fun when you do it with your loved one🙂

-I love the Indian microwave dinners here, they are delish! Especially the Quorn tikka masala (you’d never know it’s fake chicken). Also Tyrell’s Salt and Cider Vinegar chips (3 bags down, a million to go).

-Kebabs are yummy

-I am officially an expat

-When you’re taking the train you wanna make sure you’re on the right side of the platform. My man and I had to make a run for it and my Earl Grey was a-flying everywhere.

-There is an entire aisle at the grocery store for a drink called “Squash”

-I may never know how to properly use a roundabout or any other British road

-When your car breaks down and you need to get towed home it’s quite expensive (especially when your breakdown coverage ran out a few days ago)… oops.

london6

-I have a lot of trouble crossing the street

-Poppies grow wild in the fields and look beautiful from the train

-A tea is called a “brew.”

-“In clip” means “feeling rough”

-The UK has massive, bloody terrifying spiders.

-The first day full day here we walked into town for breakfast and got absolutely soaked walking home

london7

 

Have you been to the U.K.? Was there anything you found weird or wonderful?🙂

11 thoughts on “I’ve Moved to England!

  1. Happiness! Togetherness! Very happy for you two!!

    I’ve been to London, York and Scotland. I agree with the whole crossing the street thing. Almost got run over several times. Yikes!

    I’m looking forward to reading about more of your discoveries!

    1. Just saw this now for some reasson. Thanks so much🙂 I’ll be doing lots of blogging as everything here is new and exciting for me!!

  2. It’s been so long since I’ve been on here and since I’ve heard from you or have read your posts! It’s so funny that you are now in England, because I’m possibly about to get my EU passport, so I’ll be a citizen in Britain! I am so happy for you and overjoyed that you and your man are doing so well and that you were able to move closer to each other🙂 I hope you continue to enjoy England and feel that it becomes your new home. It’s an amazing place!

    1. Wow that’s awesome, what brings you to the EU?🙂 Thanks so much for your well wishes, I am loving it here so much🙂 I feel like I’ve been dropped into an adorable British show… sometimes I still can’t believe I’m here :p

      Looking so forward to many new adventures with my better half❤ We are both so happy we decided to live together.

      Goodluck with the visa!

Leave a Reply

