Settling In In My New Home :)

us

It’s been 10 days since I arrived in the U.K. from Canada and I am absolutely loving it. My wonderful man and I had a lovely weekend together. On Saturday we made the rounds visiting lots of his family and then went to our favourite pub in town with some of his friends.

Sunday we worked around the house; the garbage men haven’t taken our bins in about 2 months so we had the job of bagging up all the loose garbage and taking it to the dump. It was the most disgusting thing ever, but we did it together. I told him if helping him empty months old garbage doesn’t say “I love you” I don’t know what does :p.

bins

The rest of the day was spent tidying up, cuddling in our hammock, grabbing some groceries at Tesco’s (I was excited to find they have Havarti cheese here as I didn’t think they would!), then we made some dinner and went to see Jurassic World. It was so nice being able to have a rare date night; something I could definitely get used to now that we’ve closed the distance! Just sitting at the table and eating together felt so special.

dinย jurassic

The theatre (called the light) was one neither of us had ever been to before and it was really nice; huge screen, comfy seats and just an all-around great atmosphere. I was happy to discover the popcorn tastes just like back home๐Ÿ™‚. The movie was good although I had to keep my baby from falling asleep about 5 times.

us2

When we came out of the movie we found that the car was absolutely caked in bird shit. None of the other cars; just ours. We hadn’t even parked under a tree or light or anything. I don’t remember the last time I laughed that hard; we laughed uncontrollably the entire drive home. Those little moments are what living is for. I just feel so happy.

poop

 

This morning I had to say goodbye to my sweetheart for 3 weeks (he’s away with work again). And though I’m gonna miss him like crazy it’s the shortest amount of time we’ve ever been apart. Even though we’ve closed a major, ocean-wide gap, I know that waiting for each-other will be part of our relationship for quite a few more years. But all the beautiful little moments make the waiting so worth it. We got this๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “Settling In In My New Home :)

Leave a Reply

