A Bite Of Blighty: Yorkshire Pudding

YorkshirePudding

Having been inspired by a fellow expat’s blog “The Move to America” I decided to do my own version of a segment I particularly love from that blog. Molly is a British expat living in the United States, and she gives her impressions of different American cuisine, so I thought it would be fun to do a review of British cuisine, from my Canadian point of view. If you’d like to check out her reviews you can do so here: A Slice of Americana

Without further ado… let’s talk about Yorkshire Pudding!

A brief history:

Yorkshire Pudding is a dish associated with the North of England though little is known about it’s origins; the prefix “Yorkshire” was first used in a publication in 1747 though the pudding dates back to at least 1737. Originally it was served as an appetizer to help fill-up the eater before the main meal, as meat was expensive.

yorkshires
My very first attempt making Yorkshire Puddings! I did cheat a little and used York. Pud. batter instead of making the batter from scratch.

My thoughts:

First of all, this is clearly not a pudding! Whenever I first heard of this dish I imagined something of a custard, but it is actually a bread. It’s cool shape makes a great gravy container though.

Their texture is airy and crispy at the top and a little softer and pudgier at the bottom. They don’t have much flavour to speak of (often made from pancake batter), but they are generally doused heavily with gravy. I’ll admit that at first I was a little underwhelmed thinking it was just a funnily shaped bun and wondering what the fuss was about, but over time I’ve grown fond of them.

I’m not sure whether I’ve developed a taste for them, so much as I’ve developed a fondness for all things British. And having done some genealogy research on my family, I’ve come to find that many of my ancestors came from Yorkshire, so I feel it is my duty to do this little “pudding” proud.

I do love that they are fairly easy to make, quite cost effective, and they do have a pleasant texture. I’ll definitely be making and eating these again🙂.

Have you ever eaten or baked Yorkshire Pudding? What did you think?

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Bite Of Blighty: Yorkshire Pudding

  1. I used to go to a place that always served Yorkshire pudding with their prime rib meal. I liked the way it looked, but like you, was underwhelmed by the flavor. However, gravy was never served as part of the dish, so I think that would make a big difference!

    I think it’s so cool that you have ancestors from Yorkshire! No wonder you feel a kinship to all things British! I’ve been to York and loved that area of the country…

    1. Yes, they definitely need gravy; it makes all the difference!

      When I knew I was moving here I told my parents it’s really like moving home since that’s where a lot of my ancestors are from :p I can’t wait to visit the little towns in Yorkshire where my ancestors lived; it’s on my bucket list🙂

      I didn’t realize you’d been to England, that’s cool🙂 Were you visiting people or on vacation?

      1. I was vacationing there in 2011, traveling on my own. I stayed in York and did a hike through the Yorkshire Dales. I loved every minute of it! I’m so glad it’s on your list!

Leave a Reply

