Weathering the Storm

mud

“The world is mud-luscious and puddle wonderful” -E.E. Cummings

Moving from Canada to England for love has been quite an adventure. It has been filled with making wonderful memories, with experiencing new sights, sounds and tastes, with finding comfort in little bits of home packed in suitcases and discovering delicious nuances. It has given me a chance to see a little more of the boy who has stolen my heart, and to see what we are made of as a couple.

Distance is the easy part. Living with someone -anyone- is hard. I was prepared for it to be harder. My man was prepared for it to be easier. We have come to the conclusion it is indeed harder. The thing about when you’re in the same place is that heartfelt texts, phone calls and words need to turn into heartfelt actions. It means you can’t live the same life you did before. It means you have to think of two people when you make a decision. It means communication, compromise, sacrifice.

It means two completely different worlds colliding, and entails all the stresses and forces of those two worlds.

Living with the one you love is also the most wonderful, joyous, heartwarming experience imaginable. Having a space in the world just for the two of you. Nights spent curled up together and mornings filled with smiles. It’s incredible that four walls can contain the heartbreak and the joy of two people in love.

It has been a wonderful, and at times grueling adventure. It has tested our relationship in ways we never anticipated. The past couple of weeks have been some of the hardest in our nearly 3 year romance. Okay, thee hardest. Our relationship has most often felt wonderfully effortless. But no romance is without it’s challenges.

After a weekend of serious chats and making some big decisions I feel like we are back on the same unstoppable page. I feel like the sunshine has pierced through those dismal British clouds; that we’ve weathered the storm and come out with a stronger understanding and appreciation for one another. I’m feeling really positive again. I feel like we are a team again. And I know we can face anything together.

I’m a lucky girl.🙂

4 thoughts on “Weathering the Storm

    1. I’m always hesitant to share the not-perfect bits in life but I figure someone somewhere can always relate🙂

      I’m glad you enjoy my relationship tips and advice it almost makes me feel like I know what im doing in this crazy wonderful confusing thing called love lol we’re so lucky to have so much support and advice from his family. I got a bit teary on the weekend and his grandad said “don’t worry, you’ll have times like this but you’ll get through it. Love grows.” He always tells us “love grows” when we see him which I think is so sweet.

      I think that we can learn about love at any and every age. I’m not sure you can ever have it figured out but it’s fun trying🙂

      Best wishes to you x

    1. Thanks very much rebekah🙂 feeling so much better. Hope things are going wonderfully for you as well and that you are enjoying closing the distance with your man!

Leave a Reply

