Our First Valentines Day Together + Home Decorating

VDay

This past weekend was the first Valentines Day that my other half and I got to spend together, in the same country. As he’s been on a course with work we weren’t sure until the last minute if he would be able to make it home so we planned a lovely evening in.

I really wanted to DIY something special for my man but with working a lot of hours and only being able to get around to gather supplies by bus, plus never knowing where to find what I’m looking for in a strange country, I went for the traditional card and chocolate. My man brought me home a teddy and a beautiful card.🙂

dinner

We spent Sunday evening cooking a delicious candle-lit fillet steak dinner with dijon honey-garlic roasted parsnips, prosciutto wrapped asparagus, mash and lots of veggies. Then cuddled up on the sofa and watched “The Stone of Destiny.” Such a great movie. It was a perfect evening in🙂

us3

The next day we went for a shop around Cambridge, grabbed a couple teas and went for a nice country walk. It feels like springtime in England. The birds are chirping, the days are getting longer and the sun has been making unexpected appearances lately. Even the perhaps-a-bit-confused daffodils and crocus are blooming.

We saw some lovely red-breasted robins and swans on our walk. The swans don’t seem as happy to see us as we were to see them😉

robin swans

Last weekend was spent at home stores picking out paint, painting the living room together and hanging our new curtains. We had planned to paint our bedroom as well but that was a bit ambitious as painting takes bloody ages!

BEFORE…

AFTER…
afterlivingroom

Our livingroom now painted in Dulux “Egyptian Cotton.” We splurged on the curtains from Dunelm that we’ve had our eye on for four months.

We also recently received the hanging shelf from the States that my man bought me for Christmas. I’ve started framing some photos and putting some of our travel souvenirs on it. I want to frame some of our letters to each-other as well. We have so many ideas for the house but it all just takes time.

shelf

It’s been a really wonderful couple of weeks together. There will be a lot of big changes coming up (my man will be moving to a new location for work very soon and I have received a conditional offer for teacher’s college in September…) but I feel like everything is falling into place and that we are in a really good place with each-other. I’m looking forward to what the next year has in store for us lovebirds.

I feel very lucky.🙂

British Words of the Day:

Get your nut down: Put your head down (for a nap)

Ladybird: Ladybug

Stabilizers: training wheels

Mince: ground beef

Cracking: great        ie; “Have a cracking time!”

Wotsits: cheesies

Rats: horrible             ie; “That food last night was rats!”

Tom Tit: you’d rather not know… but now you’re curious…. it means poop

Goose pimples: goose bumps

Brolly: umbrella

I’ve also learned that British people say “sixth” like “sicth” and instead of a urinal (YUR-in-al) they call it a ur-EYE-nal. We were watching stand-up comedy the other day and I thought “what is a ur-EYE-nal?”

Those crazy Brits!

What did you get up to this Valentines Day?

Cheerio!

 

3 thoughts on “Our First Valentines Day Together + Home Decorating

Leave a Reply

