Percy’s BBQ, Milton Keynes

Before moving to the UK I scoured the internet for the best North-American style food, and while I haven’t been able to find deep fried dill pickles or corndogs anywhere, I have found Percy’s BBQ in Milton Keynes.

It comes highly rated online, so last weekend we took the hour and a half drive to try their delicious, meaty comfort food. This is exactly the kind of place that would be featured on one of our favourite TV shows Diners, Drive-ins and Dives.

We were hoping for a sit-down meal but quickly realized this is a takeout and delivery joint with no seating so we ate in the car. However, the food was great!

I had the Smoked Chili Chuck Burger (£7.45). Made with flavourful short-rib chili atop a moist beef patty reminscent of my beloved Harvey’s, topped with crunchy shredded lettuce, tomato, shredded mozzarella and lashings of mayo. Sometimes chili burgers can be a bit meat-heavy but this was the perfect balance of meat to bun to toppings ratio and it was nice that the hand-pulled short rib chili had a totally different texture to the beef patty. It was absolutely delicious.

percysBBQ (2)

percysbbq
My Smoked Chili Chuck Burger… yum!

My man had the Bacon Double Cheeseburger (£7.95) which he basically inhaled and his cousin had the Reuben (£4.45). Both thought their food was fantastic.

It gets even better with the Spiced Homefries (£2.25) which have a lovely paprika, chili and salty taste, and a side of garlic & herb mayo (£1) for fry dipping. The two make a truly heavenly duo. Below is 1/3 of the fries you get (my man and I had lots between us to share).

percysBBQ3

I also ordered a side of mac and cheese which wasn’t quite creamy enough for my tastes, but overall this place rocks and we will definitely be back!

The other great thing about this place is that you can build your own burger from their list of toppings for something that is truly unique to your tastes.

*Highly recommended by online reviews is Percy’s Pork-Wich burger which I hope to try in future.

This is the best American-type food I’ve had so far in the UK.

4/5 stars!
Try it!

Percy’s Menu

 

Leave a Reply

