Another Adventure!

accepted

As of right now, I have accepted an offer to attend a lovely University in Wales for their PGCE primary teaching program in the fall!

I have been working towards this for the past two years and it has been one of the most challenging things I’ve ever done.

  • It began with volunteering in schools in Canada and England for a year
  • Getting SO frustrated with the UCAS site trying to apply to University
  • Changing expensive flights to get myself to interviews by train at UK schools
  • Being told I don’t have enough experience in British schools
  • Taking the absolute worst maths test of my life where you get 30 seconds to answer tough math questions before the computer automatically goes to the next question.
  • Failing my maths skills test and feeling really low because I’ve never really failed anything.
  • Tutoring for two months
  • Realizing I will never be able to pass a test under those conditions
  • Feeling helpless
  • Researching and finding out that the mathematical skills test for Wales does not have the strict time limit that the England mathematical skills test has.
  • Moving to England
  • Sending out close to 100 resumes and taking the bus to other towns for interviews
  • Finding a job in a UK school as a teaching assistant
  • Reapplying to University (darn you, UCAS!!!)
  • Getting interview offers from schools that want me to attend interviews through the week at 10am (When I’m at work… plus the earliest train leaves at 6am and takes 6 hours to get there and costs 200£ or about $400CAD).
  • Finding a fantastic school with a team of people dedicated to their international students who offered me a Skype interview which I passed, along with the maths, literacy and written task tests.
  • To FINALLY accepting my offer!

I mostly blog about the joys of England and the boy that makes my world turn, but this has been a serious endeavor going on in the background. It has tested me and brought on serious stress at times. It has taught me independence and has highlighted my resilience and resourcefulness.

I am lucky that my wonderful man has been there for me every step of the way. Always believing in me, always encouraging me, and always helping to build me back up after crushing defeats. He’s been there emailing Universities for me, studying with me, listening when it seemed everything was going wrong and always reminding me how proud he is of me.

It’s going to be a hard year. I have moved across an ocean but I have spread roots here; our home we’ve built together, his family nearby who take me in when he is away with work, a friend about an hour away. Now I’ll be moving away from absolutely everything that is familiar. It’s scary.

But I know that we will make the best of it.

There will be a lot of big changes in the near future, but I couldn’t ask for a better partner to hold my hand through it. He’s the best thing that’s ever happened to me.

Here’s to another adventure!

6 thoughts on “Another Adventure!

  1. Thanks for sharing your story.. I am in the process of trying to move to where my S/O is, and it’s not easy at all, so can relate to your story! I was rejected to two schools last year and still trying to find another program that suits me.. so it’s still an ongoing process for me. As for you, Congratulations for the offer!! and good luck for your new adventure! xo

    1. It’s definitely tough moving to another country and applying to school on top of it… endless paperwork and frustration and rejection but don’t get discouraged! With a little perseverance everything will come together🙂

      Best wishes on your journey I’m sure before long I’ll be congratulating you on choosing your perfect program and school x

Leave a Reply

