Expat Life Lately: Planting Seeds and Missing Him

I know three weeks to be apart is nothing in the scheme of things but I really do miss my other half terribly. There have been a few lonely nights and tears, but for the most part I’ve been keeping myself busy visiting his family, gardening, working, doing ancestry research and yesterday I even took a trip to London with the family history society to KEW archives.

The worst part about him being away is that he isn’t allowed to use his phone this time; I miss that kind voice, telling him all about my day and hearing about his, I miss sharing our mishaps and our laughter. I miss everything about him. Luckily I have a romance going with a little island called England to tide me over until I’m back in his arms.

I am, as always, still enamored with the beauty of England. With it’s winsome moss freckled roofs, unending daffodils and thatched cottages on winding roads. And the nostalgic traditions of an era gone by.

cottage milk

Milk delivered to your door – England pulls out all the stops.

I’ve also been taking advantage of some of the warmer weather and planted some vegetable seeds (green and yellow zucchini/courgette, lettuce, cherry tomatoes, roma tomatoes and purple haze carrots). They have been enjoying their perch on the sunlit window sill and will be moving outside soon.

Day 3
Day 3
Week 1
Week 1
week2.2
Week 2
week2.1
Week 2

I have always loved watching things grow, and I can’t wait to pick some veggies off the vine this summer. There’s something satisfying about cooking with something you’ve grown yourself. Or is that just me?

Are you planning on growing anything this year?

Toodle pip!

British Words/Phrases of the Day:

on your bike: go away

You’ve been sent to Coventry: I’m ignoring you (was that the wind blowing?)

piss wrapped: soaking wet from the rain

hanging out my hoop: (what I find is quite a rude way to say you’re) exhausted

Why are you getting funny? Why are you getting upset/angry?

Is there a fire drill? A jeer often heard collectively shouted in football stadiums when the fans from one team begin to leave and head to the pub, when they realize it’s unlikely their team will win.

getting on my goat: getting on my nerves

Wind your neck in: watch it (What you say when someone’s giving you attitude, often prefaced with “oi!”)

A picnic short of a sandwich: not very clever

Out on the lash: out drinking

wind up merchant: someone who teases

winds me up: gets under my skin

 

10 thoughts on “Expat Life Lately: Planting Seeds and Missing Him

    1. Dahlias are lovely… I’m sure they’ll look beautiful this summer🙂

      I usually buy plants that have been started off but thought I would try growing from seed this year for something different.

      I need to transfer mine to bigger pots as well but I don’t have room in the house and we had a frost over the weekend. Hoping to pot them next weekend… I didn’t realize how quickly they’d grow!

    1. I really do🙂

      I’m still always learning new slang and expressions, although I refrain from using some of them as I’m never quite sure which are lighthearted and which may be offensive lol.

  1. How did your garden do this summer? Looks like you had some very nice starts! My backyard is still terrible for growing things, but I have some herbs and random things, like potatoes, garlic, and baby lettuces. I just planted some seeds today: radishes, lettuce and kale. We’ll see what happens🙂

    1. It’s doing well🙂 I’ve had about 5-6 large zucchinis out of the garden, tons of lettuce and a few cherry tomatoes.

      Mmm potatoes and garlic I should put those in next year. Is garlic hard to grow?

      1. Potatoes & garlic are new for me, so the jury’s still out. I think spring planting is good for potatoes; fall planting for garlic. I really like the idea of simply putting part of the original vegetable in the ground, and voila! A new one appears! And they create a whole family, too! I love how the original potato chunk sends up a shoot (plant with the “eye” facing up), and then sends out roots that grow more potatoes. Not sure how to tell when they’re ready to harvest. After 2 1/2 months, they are still kind of small. Gotta have patience. I think garlic takes a looong time to grow (don’t grow garlic from the regular market, unless it’s organic), maybe 6-8 months? Whoa. This is a long comment about vegetables.

      2. That is a long time for garlic to grow. I didn’t realize it grows during winter I may have to try that🙂

        That’s the hard thing about root veggies I never know when to pick them and I worry that they might rot or get eaten by bugs and I wouldn’t know until I finally pick them :p I did try carrots this summer though so I’ll see how those have turned out when I get back home🙂

Leave a Reply

