Expat Life Lately: Home Decor and New Recipes

The past couple of weekends have been quiet as I’m still feeling under the weather. Friday night my sweetheart picked me up from work as usual only this time I showed him around the school and he helped us change our displays for next term. We built a big airplane together out of cardboard for the kids to sit in. It was really nice having him there to help out๐Ÿ™‚.

We spent Saturday doing a bit of shopping in Cambridge and brought home these lovely couch cushions. I am in love with the duck wearing Wellingtons pillow as it looks so quintessentially British. Like the embodiment of a Beatrix Potter story.

pillows
ยฃ14.99 Dunelm.

I also thought this ornate beaded pillow was really beautiful. Although if you fall asleep on it you get the beaded pattern pressed into your cheek.

pillows2
ยฃ14.99 Next

This weekend I also tried my hand at baking scones for the first time. I realized after adding all the ingredients that the person who gave me the recipe (who makes the best scones ever) must have forgotten an ingredient or two in the directions as there were no liquids to make the floury mixture into a dough. I improvised and added in some milk but they aren’t nearly as good as I was hoping. I shall try them again soon.

scones3

I did have some culinary success this weekend however. My man and I decided to cook a big roast dinner on holiday Monday and I thought I would try and make Spaetzle. It’s a German dumpling/noodle that a good German friend of mine used to cook when I was little and I loved them. And it turned out fab; just as I remember. It goes wonderfully topped with gravy alongside a nice roast.

spaetzle

My other half insisted on having some Kraft stuffing with it (I’m now down to one lonely box!). I’ll have to see if some of my lovely friends and family back home will send me some more from Canada.

We picked up some strawberry plants and some flowers for our hanging basket but the weather has been dreadfully gloomy so haven’t been out in the garden this weekend. I hope we will get a few sunkissed, lemonade-filled summery days soon so I can get back out there in the dirt!

I did however pick these lovely buttercups from the lawn before my sweetheart started mowing last weekend. I’ve always loved buttercups.

buttercups

“A flower is a weed seen through joyful eyes”
-Jonathan Lockwood Huie

What’s been your biggest cuisine-related success as of late? Or food disaster?

Cheers!

10 thoughts on “Expat Life Lately: Home Decor and New Recipes

  1. I think your scones recipe was okay! It doesn’t take milk and it is supposed to have the texture of sand, kind of… I have a good recipe of maple syrup scones if you’d like? The perfect mix of Canada and England!๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope you feel better soon! x

    1. I added nearly two cups of milk to mine otherwise it was just a bowl of flour there was no way it was gonna turn into anything resembling dough :p they actually aren’t too bad a little dry think I will add more milk and maybe an egg next time๐Ÿ™‚

      But maple syrup scones do sound nice! Would you send me the recipe?๐Ÿ™‚ what I really miss from home are butter tarts but I’ve had no luck at all baking them can’t seem to get the pastry to cook on the bottom. Will keep trying with those๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks very much I think im on the mend (I hope :p)

      Take care xx

      1. I’d be happy to send you my recipe! It will take a day or two as I have to translate it from French… Do you have an email address I can send it to?

        Oh, for butter tarts you should try The Canadian Cottage! It’s a fellow expat and she cooks delicious Canadian treats and post them directly to you. I ordered twice and it was amazing both time! I plan to order again and write a blog post about it…๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’ve been following you for about a year! How exciting it all is! I’m a Texan who met an Englishman about 1.5 years ago and we are getting married in August and then I’m moving over there!! What are your top 5 things you must have from Canada in England? I’ll need to bring some pieces of home with me๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you’re feeling better. I hope we get to have some massive hydrangeas once we get a permanent garden.

    1. That’s so exciting! Congratulations! I’ll bet august can’t come soon enough :p

      I actually did a post a couple months back about the things I brought with me from canada to remind me of home which can be found here: https://ldr13.wordpress.com/2016/05/02/bits-of-home/

      But this summer when I go home my suitcase will be stuffed with all the treats I so dearly miss! Ketchup chips, dill pickle chips, kraft stuffing, gummy worms, manwich, big bags of chocolate chips, marshmallows, etc,. I only wish I could bring my favourite restaurants and take outs in a suitcase :p

      To be fair the cravings have gotten a lot less now that I’ve been here a year but I think it will be hard leaving the food behind again after this summer’s trip. And of course I wish I could take my family and friends with me; unlike the food I think I miss them more with time rather than less.

      But I do love living here and spending time with my other half and don’t regret the move for a second. I just have two homes now๐Ÿ™‚

      You will love it here! X

      What do you plan to bring with you?

      1. Oh yes, saw the coffee mug. I may just have to bring mine to make it feel like home! After all we drink a lot of tea๐Ÿ™‚. I heard there are no cheetos or funyuns unless you go to an American specialty shop. Luckily, I’ve already brought over my winter clothes and a blanket that reminds me of home. Still working on the other things that I’d like to bring. It’ll be awfully difficult to pack up 27 years of being American in just 2 suitcases!! Eeeek. But just as you’re going home, I’m sure I’ll be back home soon enough and packing a couple more of my favorite things (plus a couple of bags of cheetos).

Leave a Reply

