Expat Life Lately: Gorgeous Yorkshire, New Novel and I’m Going “Home” :)

Two weekends ago we had a weekend staycation in Yorkshire. I have been dying to see the place since I moved over a year ago, not only because it looks storybook beautiful, but also because I feel a familial attachment to the place since the Wilson’s I’ve descended from originated there.

At the top of my list of places to see were the Bempton Cliffs and they did not disappoint. Photos honestly can’t do this coast justice. If you ever get the chance, go!

bemptoncliffs

We were also lucky enough that we were just in time to see the last of the Puffins before they migrate in mid July. Puffins are tiny and geisha-like around the eyes, with orange webbed feet and beaks. They look quite funny when they fly, as being water birds, they aren’t all that suited to flying. As you can’t make them out in any of my own photos I’ll include an internet photo below.

puffins

We walked out onto the three platforms and along the Bempton Conservation area paths, and then ventured further on, to the more wild part of the cliffs. It was there we found the most serene spot atop an impending bit of cliff, and we sat there in the grass a while marveling at the sea and the cliffs and at how wonderful it was to be there together.

bemptoncliffstogether

After our fill of salt air we drove onto York where we spent the night. York is a gorgeous cathedral city, filled with offbeat bustling side streets and vendors in market squares. It’s absolutely buzzing with life, from young hippie’s to decked-out Ghost Walk actors to blissfully drunk bachelorette’s; even the leaning old buildings look like they’ve had a few.

yorkminster

I was so excited when I stumbled upon The Shambles; a street which has survived since the fourteenth century. I was mainly entranced because it was apparently J.K. Rowling’s inspiration for Diagon Alley, and as soon as you see it, you can see why.

theshambles

While it was once a street of butcher’s shops and the original hooks still adorn the buildings, it is now a tourist spot filled with knick-knack shops, tea parlours and candy stores. My favourite shop on Diagon Alley was the one with free potion… I mean, tea samples. Accio teacup!

hebdentea

I had to take home some Berry Beauty as it was too delicious to pass up.

We also visited the famous Betty’s tearoom. I love that the wait staff look straight out of Downton Abbey (they even sound like them!) and it definitely felt like a fancy experience. I have to say the afternoon tea just couldn’t measure up to the lovely tea shop right here in town (I love a really moist scone) but my man’s Swiss breakfast was out of this world. He said it was the best breakfast he’s ever had and having had a bite or two… or three, I have to say he wasn’t lying! That potato rosti was a revelation.

swiss breakfast

The queue when we left curled around the block! Popular place.

bettys

We spent the rest of the day walking the old stone walls of the Roman fortress that surrounds York and then popped into the sunny garden at Grey’s Court Hotel for a drink and some Italian aperitivo. I was astounded at how lavish this hotel and restaurant was (we were totally NOT dressed for it :p).

yorkwall yorkwall2

greyscourt

greyscourt2 greyscourt3

This little getaway concluded Josh’s 3 weeks of holidays which meant he stayed in Yorkshire where he’s working at the moment and I caught a very delayed train back to our home. It’s definitely been hard going back to only seeing each-other at weekends, but at least we are no longer oceans apart.

We spent this past weekend eating good food, chilling together and going to a friend’s birthday. It was our last one before I head off to Canada for the better part of August. I’m gutted my sweetheart can’t come but work calls. He told me to make sure I come back🙂 I told him that my home is wherever he is. I’m seriously going to miss him.

He also mentioned the other night that while he was away with work he was listening to my old singing videos on Youtube which I thought was the sweetest thing ever. Even after three years together he amazes me all the time. He’s still so proud of me and so constantly loving and I absolutely adore him for it. I wish every man could be like him. There aren’t words for how much I love him.

And, if I’ve been a little MIA recently it’s because I’ve just started writing the sequel to The Long Distance Diaries! I know, I still have to go about properly trying to get the first book published but I figure now that I’m off work on school holidays and bored out of my noggin I may as well take advantage of the opportunity to write.

Annnd when I come back from my Canada trip we will both be moving to Wales as that’s where his work will be based for the next couple of years and I’ll be going to Uni there to become a teacher. We will be living together and going home to each-other every night for the first time ever and I can’t wait🙂.

Cheerio old chaps!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Expat Life Lately: Gorgeous Yorkshire, New Novel and I’m Going “Home” :)

  1. Beautiful photos! I just read your post, look at the British boyfriend across the room and asked: “When are we going to York?!”. We’re heading off to Paris for the weekend but were looking at roadtrip destinations for the rest of the summer. I think we just found one, thanks to you!🙂 I hope you have a fantastic time in Canada… Have loads of Timbits whilst you’re there, haha!😉

    1. Yes! York is so worth a stop I just wish we had more time to explore nearby; the yorkshire dales and the cute surrounding towns.

      Jealous! I’ve always wanted to go to paris that’ll probably be our next stop when we have some time off at the same time… hard to squeeze paris into a weekend plus we’d want to do some of the ww1 tours and visit my great grand uncles grave there.

  2. Thank you for sharing these photos! I loved York (I also walked through The Shambles and went to Betty’s Tea Room). I’m reading your posts from old to new – you might be in Wales now! Okay, I’ll keep reading/catching up the next several days🙂

    1. Hello stranger! York was gorgeous and definitely worth the two months of waiting for a sunny weekend lol I’m in canada at the moment which is lovely but im seriously missing my other half. We’ll be moving in the next two weeks to wales so lots of new adventures to come! What have you been up to? I’ve missed your posts! X

      1. I hope you’re having a wonderful time with family & friends! Wales is on my bucket list – it looks so beautiful there! How are you feeling about the move? I’ve been busy with work and also wasn’t inspired to write (happens to me a lot) – less to complain about lately, haha!

      2. I’m having a lovely time but ready to go home to my other half tomorrow🙂 I’m a bit nervous about going back to school and moving especially since we don’t have a place to move into yet :p but it’ll all work out and best of all I’ll get to see my sweetheart every night so i can’t wait for that!

        Hope you feel inspired again🙂

Leave a Reply

